WebRTC应用场景

WebRTC应用场景 #

现在您已经知道WebRTC的工作原理,到了使用它的时候了。本章探讨人们使用WebRTC构建什么以及他们是如何实现的。您将学到基于WebRTC发生的所有有趣的事情。WebRTC的功能是有代价的。建立产品级的WebRTC服务相当有挑战性。本章将尝试解释这些挑战性的根源,这样您遇到问题时就能有所准备。

用例 #

许多人认为WebRTC只是在浏览器中实现电话会议的技术。实际上它能做的不仅如此! WebRTC被广泛用于各种用例。新的用例一直在出现。这里是一些常见的用例,以及WebRTC是如何对它们进行革新的。

电话会议 #

电话会议是WebRTC的原始用例。该协议包含浏览器中几个必要功能,这些功能没有其他协议提供支持。您可以使用WebSockets构建会议系统,并且在最好的条件下,它是可以工作的。但如果您希望在现实世界的网络条件下部署一些服务,那么WebRTC是最佳选择。

WebRTC为媒体提供拥塞控制和自适应比特率。随着网络条件的变化,用户仍将获得最佳体验。开发人员不必编写任何其他代码来处理这些情况。

参与者可以发送和接收多个流。他们还可以随时添加和删除这些流。编解码器也经过协商。所有这些功能都是由浏览器提供的,开发人员无需编写任何自定义代码。

数据通道也对电话会议有所助益。用户可以发送元数据或共享文档。如果更看重性能而不是可靠性,可以创建多个流并对其进行配置。

广播 #

许多使用WebRTC的新项目开始出现在广播领域中。协议为媒体的发布者和消费者都提供了很多支持。

浏览器中的WebRTC使得用户可以轻松发布视频。这样用户不需要下载新的客户端。 任何具有Web浏览器的平台都可以发布视频。发布者可以发送多个音轨/视频流,并可以随时对其进行修改/删除。传统协议每个连接只允许一个音轨/视频流,与之相比,这是一个巨大的改进。

WebRTC使开发人员可以更好地控制延迟/质量之前的权衡。有时可能不允许延迟超过特定阈值更重要,为此您可能愿意容忍对解码结果做一些修饰。您可以将查看器配置为媒体到达时立即播放。使用在TCP上运行的其他协议完成这一点并不是那么容易。但在浏览器中,您只需要请求数据,就这么简单。

远程访问 #

远程访问是当您通过WebRTC访问远端的另一台计算机。您可以完全控制远程主机,也可以只控制一个应用程序。当本地硬件无法执行计算任务时,这非常有用。例如,运行新的视频游戏或CAD软件。WebRTC能够通过下面三种方式彻底改变对物理空间的需求。

WebRTC可用于远程访问那些无法直接路由的主机。使用NAT遍历,您可以访问仅通过STUN可用的计算机。这对于安全性和隐私性非常有用。您的用户不必通过中转或所谓’跳转盒’来路由视频。NAT遍历还使得部署更加容易。您不必担心端口转发问题或提前设置静态IP。

在这种场景下,数据通道也非常强大。可以对它们进行配置,以便仅接受最新数据。使用TCP运行时,可能会遇到队头阻塞的风险。旧式的鼠标点击或按键可能会迟到,并阻止后续的鼠标被接受。 WebRTC的数据通道的设计可以处理此问题,并且可以配置为不重试丢失的数据包。您还可以测量背压,并确保您不会发送更多的数据以至于网络无法支持。

浏览器中提供的WebRTC极大地改善了生活质量。您无需下载专有客户端即可开始会话。捆绑了WebRTC的客户端越来越多,智能电视现在也开始拥有了完整的Web浏览器。

文件共享和审查制度 #

文件共享和审查规避是截然不同的问题。然而,WebRTC同时解决了他们两者的相同问题。它使得文件既容易获得又更难以阻止。

WebRTC解决的第一个问题是客户端的获取。如果要加入文件共享网络,需要下载客户端。即使网络是分布式的,您仍然需要首先获得客户端。在受限制的网络中,下载通常会被阻止。即使您可以下载它,用户也可能无法安装/运行客户端。而WebRTC在每个Web浏览器中都可用,这点使得它无处不在。

WebRTC解决的第二个问题是流量被阻止的情况。如果您使用的协议仅用于文件共享或审查制度,那么阻止它会容易得多。由于WebRTC是通用协议,阻止它将影响所有人。阻止WebRTC可能会影响网络中的其他用户加入电话会议。

分布式CDN #

物联网(IoT) #

物联网部分涵盖了几种不同的用例。许多人都见过网络连接的安防摄像头。使用WebRTC,您可以将视频流式地传输到另一个WebRTC对等设备,例如电话或浏览器。另一个用例是让设备连接并交换传感器数据。您的局域网中可以有两个设备,互相交换天气,噪音或明亮度的读数。

与传统的视频流协议相比,WebRTC具有巨大的隐私优势。由于WebRTC支持P2P连接,因此摄像头可以将视频直接发送到您的浏览器。没有必要将您的视频发送到第三方服务器。即使视频是经过加密的,攻击者也可以根据通话的元数据做出一些猜测。

互操作性是物联网领域的另一个优势。WebRTC支持多种不同的语言,包括C#,C ++,C,Go,Java,Python,Rust和Typescript。这意味着您可以使用最适合您的语言。而且您无需求助于专有协议或格式就可以连接两个不同的客户端。

媒体协议桥接 #

如果您现有的硬件和软件已经在产生视频,但是您还不能对其进行升级。期望用户下载专有客户端来观看视频是一件令人沮丧的事。解决问题的答案是运行一个WebRTC桥接器。桥接器在两种协议之间进行转换,因此用户可以在浏览器中使用旧的设置。

开发人员使用的许多协议格式都可以用WebRTC作桥接。SIP通常通过WebRTC暴露接口,并允许用户从其浏览器拨打电话。RTSP用于许多旧式安保摄像头。它们都使用相同的基础协议(RTP和SDP),因此其计算成本很低。只需要添加或删除WebRTC特定的内容即可完成桥接工作。

数据协议桥接 #

Web浏览器只能通过一组受限制的协议通信。您可以使用HTTP,WebSockets,WebRTC和QUIC。如果要连接到其他设备,您需要使用协议桥。协议桥是将外部流量转换为浏览器可访问内容的服务器。一个流行的示例是从浏览器使用SSH访问服务器。使用WebRTC的数据通道构建协议桥的话,具有下面两个优势。

WebRTC的数据通道允许不可靠且无序的交付。这在低延迟至关重要的情况下是必需的。您不会希望新数据被旧数据阻挡,这就是所谓的队头阻塞。假设您正在玩多人参与的第一人称射击游戏。您真的在乎玩家在两秒钟前的位置吗?如果这些数据没有及时到达,那么继续尝试发送就没有意义了。不可靠和无序的传送使您在一收到数据时就可以立即得到它。

数据通道还提供压力反馈。这可以告诉您发送数据的速度是否超过了连接所能支持的速度。然后,当这种情况发生时,有两个选择。可以将数据通道配置为缓冲并延迟传送数据,也可以删除尚未实时到达的数据。

远程操作 #

远程操作是指通过WebRTC数据通道控制远端设备,并通过RTP将摄像头数据发送回来。现在的开发人员已经可以通过WebRTC远程驾驶汽车了!这种技术可以用来控制施工现场和运送包裹的机器人。使用WebRTC解决这些问题很有意义,原因有两个。

WebRTC的普及使用户可以轻松控制。用户所需的只是一个Web浏览器和一个输入设备。浏览器甚至支持从操纵杆和游戏手柄获取输入。WebRTC完全不需要在用户设备上安装其他客户端。

分布式CDN #

分布式CDN是文件共享的子集。分发的文件由CDN操作员配置。当用户加入CDN网络时,他们可以下载和共享允许的文件。用户获得与文件共享相同的所有好处。

当您在外部连接很差但LAN连接很好的办公室中时,这些CDN效果很好。您可以让一个用户下载视频,然后与其他人共享。由于不需要每个人都尝试通过外部网络获取相同的文件,因此传输将更快地完成。

WebRTC拓扑 #

WebRTC是用于连接两个代理的协议,那么开发人员如何能同时连接上百人呢?您可以通过下面几种不同的方式来做到这一点,它们各有利弊。这些解决方案大致分为两类:点对点或客户端/服务器。WebRTC的灵活性使我们能够同时创建两者。

点对点 #

一对一 #

一对一是您使用WebRTC的第一种连接方式。将两个WebRTC代理直接连接,它们可以双向发送媒体和数据。 连接看起来像这样。

flowchart LR a["WebRTC Agent A"] b["WebRTC Agent B"] a <--> b

网格(Mesh) #

我们经常希望将两个以上的WebRTC peer连接在一起,比如在Web群组聊天或在线多人游戏中。要在两个以上的peer之间实现WebRTC通信的方式也很多。一种选择是创建点对点网格。 点对点网格有两种形式,“全网格"和"部分网格”。在"全网格"中,每个peer都跟要通信的每个其他peer建立一条单独的WebRTC连接。在"部分网格"中,某些peer比其他peer分配更多的连接,并用于在peer之间转发和/或路由信息。无论哪种情况,每个peer都必须将媒体的副本发送到它所连接的每个其他peer,因此在有许多用户连接时,每个peer都需要付出很高的带宽成本。考虑到这些带宽问题,点对点网格只适合用于连接在一起的小型群组。

混合网格(Hybrid Mesh) #

客户端-服务器 #

WebRTC协议的低延迟特性非常适合通话,通常会看到以p2p网状配置(低延迟)安排会议,或者通过SFU(选择性转发单元)进行对等通信以提高通话质量。由于编解码器支持因浏览器而异,因此许多会议服务器允许浏览器使用的专有或收费的编解码器(例如h264等)进行广播,然后在服务器级别将其重新编码为VP8等开放标准。如果SFU不仅转发数据包,还要执行编码任务的话,我们现在将它称为MCU(多点会议单元)。 尽管众所周知,SFU既快速高效又非常适合召开会议,但MCU可能会占用大量资源!一些会议服务器甚至会执行更繁重的任务,例如为每个呼叫者合成(合并)定制的A/V流,这样来自所有其他呼叫者的流会被合并成一个,以最大程度地减少客户端带宽的使用。

SFU (选择性转发单元) #

MCU (多点会议单元) #

Applied WebRTC

Applied WebRTC #

Now that you know how WebRTC works it is time to build with it. This chapter explores what people are building with WebRTC, and how they are building it. You will learn all the interesting things that are happening with WebRTC. The power of WebRTC comes as a cost. Building production grade WebRTC services is challenging. This chapter will try and explain those challenges before you hit them.

By Use Case #

Many think WebRTC is just a technology for conferencing in the web browser. It is so much more than that though! WebRTC is used for a wide range of use cases. New use cases showing up all the time. In this chapter we will list some common ones and how WebRTC is revolutionizing them.

Conferencing #

Conferencing is the original use case for WebRTC. The protocol contains a few necessary features that no other protocol offers in the browser. You could build a conferencing system with WebSockets and it may work in optimal conditions. If you want something that can be deployed in real world network conditions, WebRTC is the best choice.

WebRTC provides congestion control and adaptive bitrate for media. As the conditions of the network change, users will still get the best experience possible. Developers don’t have to write any additional code to measure these conditions either.

Participants can send and receive multiple streams. They can also add and remove those streams at any time. Codecs are negotiated as well. All of this functionality is provided by the browser, no custom code is required to be written by the developer.

Conferencing also benefits from data channels. Users can send metadata or share documents. You can create multiple streams and configure them if you need performance more than reliability.

Broadcasting #

Lots of new projects are starting to appear in the broadcast space that use WebRTC. The protocol has a lot to offer for both the publisher and consumer of media.

WebRTC being in the browser makes for it easy for users to publish video. It removes the requirement for users to download a new client. Any platform that has a web browser can publish video. Publishers can then send multiple tracks and modify/remove them at anytime. This is a huge improvement over legacy protocols that only allowed one audio/one video track per connection.

WebRTC gives developers greater control over the latency/quality trade-offs. It could be more important that latency never exceeds a certain threshold, and you are willing to tolerate some decoding artifacts. You can configure the viewer to play media as soon as it arrives. With other protocols that run over TCP that isn’t as easy. In the browser you can request data and that is it.

Remote Access #

Remote Access is when you remotely access another computer via WebRTC. You could have complete control of the remote host, or maybe just a single application. This is great for running computationally tasks when the local hardware can’t do it. Like running a new video game, or CAD software. WebRTC was able to revolutionize the space in three ways.

WebRTC can be used to remotely access a host that isn’t world routable. With NAT Traversal you can access a computer that is only available via STUN. This is great for security and privacy. Your users don’t have to route video through a ingest or ‘jump box’. NAT Traversal also makes deployments easier. You don’t have to worry about port forwarding or setting up a static IP ahead of time.

Data channels are really powerful as well in this scenario. They can be configured so that only the latest data is accepted. With TCP run the risk of encountering Head-of-line blocking. A old mouse click or keypress could arrive late, and block the subsequent ones from being accepted. WebRTC’s data channels are designed to handle this and can be configured to not retry on lost packets. You can also measure the backpressure and make sure that you aren’t sending more data then your network supports.

WebRTC being available in the browser has been a huge quality of life improvement. You don’t have to download a proprietary client to start the session. More and more clients are coming with WebRTC bundled, smart TVs are getting full web browsers now.

File Sharing and Censorship Circumvention #

File Sharing and Censorship Circumvention are dramatically different problems. However, WebRTC solves the same problems for them both. It makes them both easily available and harder to block.

The first problem that WebRTC solves is getting the client. If you want to join a file sharing network you need to download the client. Even if the network is distributed, you still need to get the client first. In a restricted network the download will often be blocked. Even if you can download it the user may not be able to install/run the client. WebRTC is available in every web browser already making it readily available.

The second problem that WebRTC solves is your traffic being blocked. If you use a protocol that is just for file sharing or censorship circumvention it is much easier to block it. Since WebRTC is a general purpose protocol blocking it would impact everyone. Blocking WebRTC might prevent other users of the network from joining conference calls.

IoT #

IoT covers a few different use cases. For many this means network connected security cameras. Using WebRTC you can stream the video to another WebRTC peer like your a phone or browser. Another use case is having devices connect and exchange sensor data. You can have two devices in your LAN exchange climate, noise or light readings.

WebRTC has a huge privacy advantage here over legacy video stream protocols. Since WebRTC supports P2P connectivity the camera can send the video directly to your browser. There is no reason for your video to be sent to a 3rd party server. Even when video is encrypted, an attacker can make assumptions from the metadata of the call.

Interoperability is another advantage for the IoT space. WebRTC is available in lots of different languages C#, C++, C, Go, Java, Python, Rust and Typescript. This means you can use the language that works best for you. You also don’t have to turn to proprietary protocols or formats to be able to connect your two different clients.

Media Protocol Bridging #

You have existing hardware and software that is producing video, but you can’t upgrade it yet. Expecting users to download a proprietary client to watch videos is frustrating. The answer is run a WebRTC bridge. The bridge translates between the two protocols so users can use the browser with your legacy setup.

Many of the formats that developers bridge with use the protocols as WebRTC. SIP is commonly exposed via WebRTC and allows users to make phone calls from their browser. RTSP is used in lots of legacy security cameras. They both use the same underlying protocols (RTP and SDP) so it is computationally cheap to run. The bridge is just required to add or remove things that are WebRTC specific.

Data Protocol Bridging #

A web browser is only able to speak a constrained set of protocols. You can use HTTP, WebSockets, WebRTC and QUIC. If you want to connect to anything else you need to use a protocol bridge. A protocol bridge is a server that converts foreign traffic into something the browser can access. A popular example is using SSH from your browser to access a server. WebRTC’s data channels have two advantages over the competition.

WebRTC’s data channels allow unreliable and unordered delivery. In cases where low latency is critical this is needed. You don’t want new data to be blocked by old data, this is known as head-of-line blocking. Imagine you are playing a multiplayer First-person shooter. Do you really care where the player was two seconds ago? If that data didn’t arrive in time, it doesn’t make sense to keep trying to send it. Unreliable and unordered delivery allows you to get your data as soon as it arrives.

Data channels also provide feedback pressure. This tells you if you are sending data faster than your connection can support. You then have two choices when this happens. The data channel can either be configured to buffer and deliver the data late, or you can drop the data that hasn’t arrived in real-time.

Teleoperation #

Teleoperation is the act of controlling a device remotely via WebRTC data channels, and sending the camera back via RTP. Developers are driving cars remotely via WebRTC today! This is used to control robots at construction sites and deliver packages. Using WebRTC for these problems makes sense for two reasons.

The ubiquity of WebRTC makes it easy to give users control. All the user needs is a web browser and an input device. Browsers even support taking input from joysticks and gamepads. WebRTC completely removes the need to install an additional client on the user’s device.

Distributed CDN #

Distributed CDNs are a subset of file sharing. The files being distributed are configured by the CDN operator instead. When users join the CDN network they can download and share the allowed files. Users get all the same benefits as file sharing.

These CDNs work great when you are at an office with poor external connectivity, but great LAN connectivity. You can have one user download a video, and then share it with everyone else. Since everyone isn’t attempting to fetch the same file via the external network, the transfer will complete faster.

WebRTC Topologies #

WebRTC is a protocol for connecting two agents, so how are developers connecting hundreds of people at once? There are a few different ways you can do it, and they all have pros and cons. These solutions broadly fall into two categories Peer-to-Peer or Client/Server. WebRTC’s flexibility allows us to create both.

One-To-One #

One-to-One is the first connection type you will use with WebRTC. You connect two WebRTC Agents directly and they can send bi-directional media and data. The connection looks like this.

One-to-One

Full Mesh #

Full mesh is the answer if you want to build a conference call or a multiplayer game. In this topology each user establishes a connection with every other user directly. This allows you to build your application, but it comes with some downsides.

In a Full Mesh topology each user is connected directly. That means you have to encode and upload video independently for each member of the call. The network conditions between each connection will be different, so you can’t reuse the same video. The error handling is also difficult in these deployments. You need to carefully consider if you have lost complete connectivity, or just connectivity with one remote peer.

Because of these concerns, a Full Mesh is best used for small groups. For anything larger a client/server topology is best.

Full mesh

Hybrid Mesh #

Hybrid Mesh is an alternative to Full Mesh that can alleviate some of the Full Mesh’s issues. In a Hybrid Mesh connections aren’t established between every user. Instead, media is relayed through peers in the network. This means that the creator of the media doesn’t have to use as much bandwidth to distribute media.

This does have some downsides however. In this set up, the original creator of the media has no idea who its video is being sent too, and if it arrived successfully. You also will have an increase in latency with every hop in your Hybrid Mesh network.

Hybrid mesh

Selective Forwarding Unit #

An SFU (Selective Forwarding Unit) also solves the issues of Full Mesh, but in an entirely different way. An SFU implements a client/server topology, instead of P2P. Each WebRTC peer connects to the SFU and uploads its media. The SFU then forwards this media out to each connected client.

With an SFU each WebRTC Agent only has to encode and upload their video once. The burden of distributing it to all the viewers is on the SFU. Connectivity with an SFU is much easier than P2P as well. You can run an SFU on a world routable address, making it much easier for clients to connect. You don’t need to worry about NAT Mappings. You do still need to make sure your SFU is available via TCP (either via ICE-TCP or TURN).

Building a simple SFU can be done in a weekend. Building a good SFU that can handle all types of clients is never ending. Tuning the Congestion Control, Error Correction and Performance is a never ending task.

Selective Forwarding Unit

MCU #

A MCU (Multi-point Conferencing Unit) is a client/server topology like an SFU, but composites the output streams. Instead of distributing the outbound media unmodified it re-encodes them as one feed.

Multi-point Conferencing Unit