搭建实时网络

为什么网络在实时通信中如此重要? #

网络是实时通信中的限制因素。在理想的世界中,我们将拥有无限的带宽,并且数据包会即时到达。但事实并非如此。网络是受限的,且其限定条件随时可能更改。测量和观察网络状况也是一个难题。根据您所使用的硬件,软件及其配置,您可能看到不同的表现。

实时通信也带来了其他大多数领域中不存在的问题。对于网站开发人员来说,如果您的网站在某些网络上运行速度较慢,那不是致命问题。只要所有数据到达,用户都会感到满意。但对于WebRTC,如果您的数据延迟了,那就没用了。没有人在乎5秒钟前的电话会议中所说过的话。因此,在开发RTC(实时通信)系统时必须权衡。我的时间限制是多少,可以发送多少数据?

本章介绍了适用于数据和媒体通信的概念。在后面的章节中,我们将超出理论范围,讨论一下WebRTC的媒体和数据子系统如何解决这些问题。

使网络变得困难的有哪些属性? #

在所有网络上都能有效工作的代码很复杂。您会面对许多不同的因素,它们都可以相互影响。这些是开发人员将遇到的最常见问题。

带宽 #

带宽是可以在给定路径上传输的最大数据速率。请记住,这也不是一个静态数字,这一点很重要。随着越来越多(或更少)的人使用带宽,带宽将沿路由变化。

传输时间 #

传输时间指的是一个数据包需要多长时间到达。像带宽一样,这不是恒定的。 传输时间随时可能波动。

抖动 #

抖动是每个数据包的传输时间可能会有所不同的现实表现。您的数据包可能会延迟,但随后会突然大量集中到达。

数据包丢失 #

数据包丢失是指消息在传输中丢失。数据损失率可能是稳定的,也可能出现波峰和波谷。 这可能是由于网络类型的原因造成的,例如卫星或Wi-Fi等。或者也可能是传输路径上的软件导致的。

最大传输单位(MTU) #

最大传输单位指的是单个数据包大小的限制。网络不允许您发送一个巨大的消息。在协议级别,消息可能必须被拆分为多个较小的数据包。

根据您采用的网络路径,MTU也将有所不同。您可以使用MTU路径发现之类的协议来确定可以发送的最大数据包大小。

拥塞 #

拥塞是指网络达到极限时的情况。这通常是因为您已达到当前路由可以处理的峰值带宽。或者可能是运营商对您的ISP配置导致,比如限制了每小时的流量。

拥塞会以多种不同的方式展现出来。没有标准化的表现。在大多数情况下,当拥塞发生时,网络将丢弃多余的数据包。在其他一些情况下,网络将缓存数据包。这将导致数据包的传输时间增加。随着网络的拥塞,您还会看到更多的抖动。这是一个快速变化的领域,并且还有其他用于拥塞检测的新算法目前仍在编写中。

动态变化 #

网络是动态的,各种状况可能会迅速变化。在通话过程中,您可能会发送和接收数十万个数据包。 这些数据包可能经过多个跃点。这些跃点可能由数百万其他用户共享。即使在您的本地网络中,您也可能正在下载高清电影,或者可能有设备正要下载软件更新。

保证通话质量不能仅仅是在启动时简单的度量您的网络。您需要持续不断的评估。还需要处理来自于多种网络硬件和软件的所有不同表现。

解决数据包丢失问题 #

数据包损失是最需要解决的首要问题。有多种解决方法,每种方法都有自己的优势。这取决于您要发送的内容以及对延迟的容忍度。同样重要的一点是,并非所有数据包丢失都是致命的。丢失一些视频可能不是什么问题,人眼甚至可能无法感觉到。但丢掉用户的短信就是不可接受的了。

假设您发送了10个数据包,而数据包5和6丢失了。下面是一些解决问题的方法。

确认(Acknowledgments) #

确认是指接收方收到每个数据包时,都去通知发送方。如果发送方收到一个数据包的两次确认消息,且该数据包不是最终数据包时,发送方就会意识到有数据包已经丢失。例如,当发送方两次收到数据包4的ACK消息时,它就知道接收方没有收到数据包5。

选择性确认(Selective Acknowledgments) #

选择性确认是对确认的改进。接收方可以发送一个SACK消息来确认多个数据包已经收到,并通知发送者间隔时间。 例如,发送方可能收到一个包含数据包4和7的SACK消息。这样它就知道需要重新发送数据包5和6。

否定应答(Negative Acknowledgments) #

否定应答以相反的方式解决了问题。接收方并不通知发送方自己已经收到了什么,而是通知发送方丢失了什么。在我们的例子里,将为数据包5和6发送一个NACK。发送方仅知道接收方希望再次发送的数据包。

前向纠错(FEC) #

前向纠错可以抢先解决丢包问题。发送方将发送冗余数据,这意味着部分数据包丢失不会影响最终流。一种流行的算法是Reed–Solomon纠错算法。

这减少了发送和处理确认的延迟/复杂度。如果您所在的网络的损耗为零,则前向纠错会浪费带宽。

解决抖动问题 #

大多数网络都存在抖动。即使在局域网内部,您也有许多设备以变化的速率发送数据。您可以通过运行ping命令对其他设备执行ping操作,并注意往返延迟的波动,从而轻松地观察到抖动。

要解决抖动的客户端,请使用JitterBuffer。JitterBuffer确保数据包的稳定传递时间。不利的一面是,JitterBuffer为提前到达的数据包增加了一些延迟。 好处是延迟的数据包不会引起抖动。想象一下,在通话期间,您可能会看到数据包到达时间类似下面这样。

* time=1.46 ms
* time=1.93 ms
* time=1.57 ms
* time=1.55 ms
* time=1.54 ms
* time=1.72 ms
* time=1.45 ms
* time=1.73 ms
* time=1.80 ms

在这个例子里,~1.8 ms是一个不错的选择。较晚到达的数据包将使用我们的延迟窗口。较早到达的数据包将被延迟,并可以填充由较晚的数据包耗尽的延迟窗口。这意味着我们不会再陷入无数据包可用的困境,可以为客户提供顺畅的传输率。

检测拥塞问题 #

在我们解决拥塞问题之前,我们需要先检测到拥塞。为了检测到它,我们使用拥塞控制器。这是一个复杂的主题,并且仍在迅速变化中。 一些新算法仍在持续被发布和测试。总的来看,它们都以相同的方式运行。即是说,拥塞控制器在给定某些输入的情况下提供带宽估计值。 这里是一些可能的输入。

  • 数据包丢失 - 随着网络逐渐变得拥塞,数据包开始被丢弃。
  • 抖动 - 随着网络设备变得越来越过载,将导致数据包排队时间变得不稳定。
  • 封包往返时间(RTT) - 拥塞时,数据包将需要更长的时间才能到达。与抖动不同的是,往返时间是持续增加的。
  • 显式拥塞通知(ECN) - 较新的网络可能会将数据包标记为有拥塞造成丢失的风险,这样可以缓解拥塞。

这些值需要在通话期间持续不断的测量。网络的利用率可能会增加/减少,因此可用带宽可能会不断变化。

解决拥塞问题 #

现在我们有了一个估计的带宽值,我们需要调整发送的内容。如何调整取决于我们要发送的数据类型。

降低发送速度 #

限制发送数据的速度是防止拥塞的第一个解决方案。拥塞控制器为您提供了带宽的估计值,发送方有责任对发送速率进行限制。

这是适用于大多数数据通信的方法。对于像TCP这样的协议,这全部由操作系统完成,并且对用户和开发人员完全透明。

减少发送的数据 #

在某些情况下,我们可以发送更少的信息来满足我们的限制。对于数据的到达时间,我们可能有严格的限制,因此我们发送速度不能太慢。这些是实时媒体所受的限制。

如果我们没有足够的可用带宽,我们可以降低发送的视频质量。这要求您的视频编码器和拥塞控制器之间存在紧密的反馈回路。

Real-time Networking

Why is networking so important in Real-time communication? #

Networks are the limiting factor in Real-time communication. In an ideal world we would have unlimited bandwidth and packets would arrive instantaneously. This isn’t the case though. Networks are limited, and the conditions could change at anytime. Measuring and observing network condition is also a difficult problem. You can get different behaviors depending on hardware, software and the configuration of it.

Real-time communication also poses a problem that doesn’t exist in most other domains. For a web developer it isn’t fatal if your website is slower on some networks. As long as all the data arrives, users are happy. With WebRTC, if your data is late it is useless. No one cares about what was said in a conference call 5 seconds ago. So when developing a realtime communication system, you have to make a trade-off. What is my time limit, and how much can I send?

This chapter covers the concepts that apply to both data and media communication. In later chapters we go beyond the theoretical and discuss how WebRTC’s media and data subsystems solve these problems.

What are the attributes of the network that make it difficult? #

Code that effectively works across all network is complicated. You have lots of different factors, and they can all affect each other subtly. These are the most common issues that developers will encounter.

Bandwidth #

Bandwidth is the maximum rate of data that can be transferred across a given path. It is important to remember this isn’t a static number either. The bandwidth will change along the route as more (or less) people use it.

Transmission Time #

Transmission Time is how long it takes for a packet to arrive. Like Bandwidth this isn’t constant. The Transmission Time can fluctuate at anytime.

Jitter #

Jitter is the fact that Transmission Time may vary for each packet. Your packets could be delayed, but then arrive in bursts.

Packet Loss #

Packet Loss is when messages are lost in transmission. The loss could be steady, or it could come in spikes. This could be because of the network type like satellite or Wi-Fi. Or it could be introduced by the software along the way.

Maximum Transmission Unit #

Maximum Transmission Unit is the limit on how large a single packet can be. Networks don’t allow you to send one giant message. At the protocol level, messages might have to be split into multiple smaller packets.

The MTU will also differ depending on what network path you take. You can use a protocol like Path MTU Discovery to figure out the largest packet size you can send.

Congestion #

Congestion is when the limits of the network have been reached. This is usually because you have reached the peak bandwidth that the current route can handle. Or it could be operator imposed lke hourly limits your ISP configures.

Congestion exhibits itself in many different ways. There is no standardized behavior. In most cases when congestion is reached the network will drop excess packets. In other cases the network will buffer. This will cause the Transmission Time for your packets to increase. You could also see more Jitter as your network becomes congested. This is a rapidly changing area and new algorithms for congestion detection are still being written.

Dynamic #

Networks are incredibly dynamic and conditions can change rapidly. During a call you may send and receive hundreds of thousands of packets. Those packets will be traveling through multiple hops. Those hops will be shared by millions of other users. Even in your local network you could have HD movies being downloaded or maybe a device decides to download a software update.

Having a good call isn’t as simple as measuring your network on startup. You need to be constantly evaluating. You also need to handle all the different behaviors that come from a multitude of network hardware and software.

Solving Packet Loss #

Solving loss is the first problem most solve. There are multiple ways to solve it, each with their own benefits. It depends on what you are sending and how latency tolerant you are. It is also important to note that not all packet loss is fatal. Losing some video might not be a problem, the human eye might not even able to perceive it. Losing a users text messages are fatal.

Lets say you send 10 packets, and packets 5 and 6 are lost. Here are the ways you can solve it.

Acknowledgments #

Acknowledgments is when the receiver notifies the sender of every packet they have received. The sender is aware of packet loss when it gets an acknowledgment for a packet twice that isn’t final. When the sender gets an ACK for packet 4 twice, it knows that 5 hasn’t been seen yet.

Selective Acknowledgments #

Selective Acknowledgments is an improvement upon Acknowledgments. A Receiver can send a SACK that acknowledgment multiple packets and notifies the sender of gaps. Now the sender will get a SACK for 4 and 7. It then knows it needs to re-send 5 and 6.

Negative Acknowledgments #

Negative Acknowledgments solve the problem the opposite way. Instead of notifying the sender what it has received, the receiver notifies the sender what has been lost. In our case a NACK will be sent for packets 5 and 6. The sender only knows packets the receiver wishes to have sent again.

Forward Error Correction #

Forward Error Correction fixes packet loss pre-emptively. The sender sends redundant data, meaning a lost packet doesn’t affect the final stream. One popular algorithm for this is Reed–Solomon error correction.

This reduces the latency/complexity of sending and handling Acknowledgments. Forward Error Correction is a waste of bandwidth if the network you are in has zero loss.

Solving Jitter #

Jitter is present in most networks. Even inside a LAN you have many devices sending data at fluctuating rates. You can easily observe Jitter by pinging another device with the ping command and noticing the fluctuations in round-trip latency.

To solve Jitter clients use a JitterBuffer. The JitterBuffer ensures a steady delivery time of packets. The downside is that JitterBuffer adds some latency to packets that arrive early. The upside is that late packets don’t cause jitter. Imagine during a call you see packet arrival times like the following.

* time=1.46 ms
* time=1.93 ms
* time=1.57 ms
* time=1.55 ms
* time=1.54 ms
* time=1.72 ms
* time=1.45 ms
* time=1.73 ms
* time=1.80 ms

In this case ~1.8 ms is a good choice. Packets that arrive late will use our window of latency. Packets that arrive early will be delayed and can fill the window depleted by late packets. This means we no longer have stuttering and provide a smooth delivery rate for the client.

Detecting Congestion #

Before we can even resolve congestion, we need to detect it. To detect it we use a congestion controller. This is a complicated subject, and is still rapidly changing. New algorithms are still be published and tested. At a high level they all operate the same. A congestion controller provides a bandwidth estimates given some inputs. These are some possible inputs:

  • Packet Loss - Packets are dropped as the network becomes congested.
  • Jitter - As network equipment becomes more overloaded packets queuing will cause the times to be erratic.
  • Round Trip Time - Packets take longer to arrive when congested. Unlike Jitter the Round Trip Time just keeps increasing.
  • Explicit Congestion Notification - Newer networks may tag packets as at risk for being dropped to relieve congestion.

These values need to be measured continuously during the call. Utilization of the network may increase/decrease so the available bandwidth could constantly be changing.

Resolving Congestion #

Now that we have an estimated bandwidth we need to adjust what we are sending. How we adjust depends on what kind of data we want to send.

Sending Slower #

Limiting the speed at which you send data is the first solution to preventing congestion. The Congestion Controller gives you an estimate, and it is the sender’s responsibility to rate limit.

This is the method used for most data communication. With protocols like TCP this is all done by the operating system and completely transparent to users and developers.

Sending Less #

In some cases we can send less information to satisfy our limits. We also have hard deadlines on the arrival of our data, so we can’t send slower. These are the constraints that Real-time media falls under.

If we don’t have enough bandwidth available, we can lower the quality of video we send. This requires a tight feedback loop between your video encoder and congestion controller.