是什么,为什么,如何使用

WebRTC是什么? #

WebRTC是Web实时通信(Real-Time Communication)的缩写,它既是API也是协议。WebRTC协议是两个WebRTC代理协商双向安全实时通信的一组规则。开发人员可以通过WebRTC API使用WebRTC协议。目前WebRTC API仅有JavaScript版本。

可以用HTTP和fetch API来类比。WebRTC协议就是HTTP,而WebRTC API就是fetch API。

除了JavaScript语言,WebRTC协议也可以在其他API/语言中使用。您还可以找到WebRTC的服务器和特定领域的工具。所有这些实现都使用WebRTC协议,因此它们可以彼此交互。

WebRTC协议由IETF工作组在rtcweb中维护。WebRTC API的W3C文档在webrtc-pc

为什么我应该学习WebRTC? #

下面这些就是WebRTC会给您的东西。这份清单并不详尽,只是您在学习旅途中可能会喜欢的一些东西。如果您还不了解其中一些术语,请不要担心,本书将陆续将这些概念教给您。

  • 开放标准
  • 多种实现
  • 在浏览器中可用
  • 强制加密
  • NAT遍历
  • 重新利用现有技术
  • 拥塞控制
  • 亚秒级延迟

WebRTC协议是一组其他技术的集合体 #

这个主题需要整本书来解释。但是,首先,我们将其分为四个步骤。

  • 信令(Signaling)
  • 连接(Connecting)
  • 保护(Securing)
  • 通信(Communicating)

这四个步骤依次发生。上一个步骤必须100%成功,随后的步骤才能开始。

关于WebRTC的一个特殊事实是,每个步骤实际上都是由许多其他协议组成的!为了制作WebRTC,我们将许多现有技术结合在一起。从这个意义上讲,WebRTC更加是自2000年代以来就已经存在的易于理解的技术的组合和配置。

每个步骤都有专门的章节,但是首先从较高的层次上理解它们会有所帮助。由于它们彼此依赖,因此理解这些在进一步解释每个步骤的目的时会有所帮助。

信令:peer如何在WebRTC中找到彼此 #

当WebRTC代理启动时,它不知道与谁通信以及他们将要通信的内容。信令解决了这个问题!信令用于引导呼叫,以便两个WebRTC代理可以开始通信。

信令使用现有协议SDP。SDP是纯文本协议。每个SDP消息均由键/值对组成,并包含“media sections”列表。两个WebRTC代理交换的SDP所包含一些详细信息,如:

  • 代理可访问的IP和端口(候选)
  • 代理希望发送多少路音频和视频流
  • 代理支持哪些音频和视频编解码器
  • 连接时需要使用的值(uFrag/uPwd)
  • 保护时使用的值(证书指纹)

注意,信令通常发生在“out-of-band”。也就是说,应用通常不使用WebRTC本身来交换信令消息。在连接的peer中,任何适合发送消息的架构均可被用于传递SDP信息,许多应用程序都使用其现有的基础结构(例如REST端点,WebSocket连接或身份验证代理)来解决适当客户端之间的SDP传递问题。

使用STUN/TURN进行连接和NAT穿透 #

现在,两个WebRTC代理知道足够的详细信息以尝试相互连接。接下来,WebRTC将使用另一种成熟的技术,称为ICE。

ICE(交互式连接建立)是WebRTC之前的协议。ICE允许在两个代理之间建立连接。这些代理可以在同一网络上,也可以在世界的另一端。ICE是无需中央服务器即可建立直接连接的解决方案。

这里真正的魔法是“ NAT穿透”和STUN/TURN服务器。这两个概念是与另一个子网中的ICE代理进行通信所需的全部。稍后我们将深入探讨这些主题。

ICE成功连接后,WebRTC继续建立加密的传输。此传输用于音频,视频和数据。

使用DTLS和SRTP保护传输层 #

现在我们有了双向通信(通过ICE),我们需要建立安全的通信。这是通过WebRTC之前的两种协议完成的。第一个协议是DTLS(数据报传输层安全性),它只是基于UDP的TLS。TLS是用于保护通过HTTPS进行通信的加密协议。第二种协议是SRTP(安全实时传输协议)。

首先,WebRTC通过在ICE建立的连接上进行DTLS握手来进行连接。与HTTPS不同,WebRTC不使用中央授权来颁发证书。相反,WebRTC只是判断通过DTLS交换的证书是否与通过信令共享的签名相符。然后,此DTLS连接可以被用于传输DataChannel消息。

接下来,WebRTC使用RTP协议进行音频/视频的传输。我们使用SRTP来保护我们的RTP数据包。我们从协商的DTLS会话中提取密钥,用来初始化SRTP会话。在下一章中,我们讨论为什么媒体传输拥有其自己的协议。

我们说完了!您现在可以进行安全的双向通信。如果您的WebRTC代理之间具有稳定的连接,上面这就是您可能需要解决的所有复杂问题。不幸的是,现实世界中存在着数据包丢失和带宽限制,下一章节将介绍我们如何处理它们。

通过RTP和SCTP进行点对点通信 #

现在,我们有了两个具有安全的双向通信功能的WebRTC代理。让我们开始通信!跟前面一样,我们使用两个预先存在的协议:RTP(实时传输协议)和SCTP(流控制传输协议)。SRTP用于加密通过RTP交换的媒体,而SCTP用于发送使用DTLS加密的DataChannel消息。

RTP很小,但是提供了实现实时流式传输所需的功能。重要的是,RTP为开发人员提供了灵活性,因此他们可以根据需要处理延迟,丢失和拥塞。我们将在媒体章节中对此进行进一步讨论。

堆栈中的最终协议是SCTP。SCTP支持许多不同的消息传送选项。您可以选择不可靠的无序交付,以便获得实时系统所需的延迟。

WebRTC是一系列协议的集合 #

WebRTC解决了许多问题。初看起来,这似乎是过度设计的。实际上,WebRTC非常克制。它并未认为它可以更好的解决所有问题。相反,它采纳了许多现有的单一目的技术,并将它们捆绑在一起。

这使得我们可以独立的检查和学习每个部分,而不会毫无头绪。实际上,从另一个角度去看“ WebRTC代理”,它只是许多不同协议的协调器。

graph TB webrtc{WebRTC Agent} sctp{SCTP Agent} dtls{DTLS Agent} ice{ICE Agent} stun{STUN Protocol} turn{TURN Agent} srtp{SRTP Agent} sdp{SDP} rtp{RTP} rtcp{RTCP} webrtc --> ice webrtc --> dtls webrtc --> srtp webrtc --> sdp webrtc --> sctp ice --> turn ice --> stun srtp --> rtcp srtp --> rtp

WebRTC(API)如何工作 #

本部分显示JavaScript API是如何跟协议相对应的。这不只是WebRTC API的一个粗略演示,更像是创建了一个思维模型,以此将所有部分联系在一起。如果您对各部分都不熟悉,那也不要紧。当您了解更多信息时,再回头看看这一部分,可能会很有趣!

new RTCPeerConnection #

RTCPeerConnection是最顶层的"WebRTC会话”。它包含上述所有协议。所有子系统都已就位,但是什么都还没有发生。

addTrack #

addTrack创建一个新的RTP流。并将为这个流生成一个随机的SSRC(Synchronization Source/同步源)。然后,createOffer将生成会话描述符,这个流将被加入其中的媒体部分。每次调用addTrack都会创建一个新的SSRC和对应的媒体部分。

在建立SRTP会话后,这些媒体数据包将被SRTP加密,然后立即通过ICE开始发送。

createDataChannel #

如果没有SCTP关联存在,createDataChannel将创建一个新的SCTP流。默认情况下,SCTP是不启用的,只有在一方请求数据通道时才启动。

在DTLS会话建立之后,SCTP关联将立即通过ICE发送数据包,并使用DTLS加密。

createOffer #

createOffer生成本地状态的会话描述,以与远端Peer共享。

调用createOffer的行为对于本地Peer没有任何改变。

setLocalDescription #

setLocalDescription提交所有请求的更改。 在此调用之前,addTrackcreateDataChannel和类似调用都是临时的。 调用setLocalDescription时,使用由createOffer生成的值。

通常,在此调用之后,您会将offer发送给远端Peer,他们将调用setRemoteDescription,将此offer设入。

setRemoteDescription #

收到远端Peer发来的offer之后,我们通过setRemoteDescription通知本地代理。这就是使用JavaScript API传递“信令”的方式。

双方都调用过setRemoteDescription后,WebRTC代理现在拥有足够的信息来开始进行P2P通信!

addIceCandidate #

addIceCandidate允许WebRTC代理随时添加更多远程ICE候选对象。该API将ICE候选对象发送到ICE子系统,并且对更大的WebRTC连接没有其他影响。

ontrack #

ontrack是从远端Peer收到RTP数据包时触发的回调。传入的RTP数据包应该已在传递给setRemoteDescription的会话描述中声明。

WebRTC使用SSRC并查找关联的MediaStreamMediaStreamTrack,并使用填充的这些详细信息触发此回调。

oniceconnectionstatechange #

oniceconnectionstatechange是ICE代理的状态变化时触发的回调。当网络连接或断开时,您将得到此通知。

onstatechange #

onstatechange是ICE代理和DTLS代理状态的组合。当ICE和DTLS都成功完成时,您将看到此通知。

What, Why and How

What, Why and How #

What is WebRTC? #

WebRTC, short for Web Real-Time Communication, is both an API and a Protocol. The WebRTC protocol is a set of rules for two WebRTC agents to negotiate bi-directional secure real-time communication. The WebRTC API then allows developers to use the WebRTC protocol. The WebRTC API is specified only for JavaScript.

A similar relationship would be the one between HTTP and the Fetch API. WebRTC the protocol would be HTTP, and WebRTC the API would be the Fetch API.

The WebRTC protocol is available in other APIs and languages besides JavaScript. You can find servers and domain-specific tools as well for WebRTC. All of these implementations use the WebRTC protocol so that they can interact with each other.

The WebRTC protocol is maintained in the IETF in the rtcweb working group. The WebRTC API is documented in the W3C as webrtc.

Why should I learn WebRTC? #

These are some of the things that WebRTC will give you:

  • Open standard
  • Multiple implementations
  • Available in browsers
  • Mandatory encryption
  • NAT Traversal
  • Repurposed existing technology
  • Congestion control
  • Sub-second latency

This list is not exhaustive, just an example of some of the things you may appreciate during your journey. Don’t worry if you don’t know all these terms yet, this book will teach them to you along the way.

The WebRTC Protocol is a collection of other technologies #

The WebRTC Protocol is an immense topic that would take an entire book to explain. However, to start off we break it into four steps.

  1. Signaling
  2. Connecting
  3. Securing
  4. Communicating

These steps are sequential, which means the prior step must be 100% successful for the subsequent step to begin.

One peculiar fact about WebRTC is that each step is actually made up of many other protocols! To make WebRTC, we stitch together many existing technologies. In that sense, you can think of WebRTC as being more a combination and configuration of well-understood tech dating back to the early 2000s than as a brand-new process in its own right.

Each of these steps has dedicated chapters, but it is helpful to understand them at a high level first. Since they depend on each other, it will help when explaining further the purpose of each of these steps.

Signaling: How peers find each other in WebRTC #

When a WebRTC Agent starts, it has no idea who it is going to communicate with or what they are going to communicate about. The Signaling step solves this issue! Signaling is used to bootstrap the call, allowing two independent WebRTC agents to start communicating.

Signaling uses an existing, plain-text protocol called SDP (Session Description Protocol). Each SDP message is made up of key/value pairs and contains a list of “media sections”. The SDP that the two WebRTC agents exchange contains details like:

  • The IPs and Ports that the agent is reachable on (candidates).
  • The number of audio and video tracks the agent wishes to send.
  • The audio and video codecs each agent supports.
  • The values used while connecting (uFrag/uPwd).
  • The values used while securing (certificate fingerprint).

It is important to note that signaling typically happens “out-of-band”, which means applications generally don’t use WebRTC itself to exchange signaling messages. Any architecture suitable for sending messages can relay the SDPs between the connecting peers, and many applications will simply use their existing infrastructure (e.g. REST endpoints, WebSocket connections, or authentication proxies) to facilitate trading of SDPs between the proper clients.

Connecting and NAT Traversal with STUN/TURN #

Once two WebRTC agents have exchanged SDPs, they have enough information to attempt to connect to each other. To make this connection happen, WebRTC uses another established technology called ICE (Interactive Connectivity Establishment).

ICE is a protocol that pre-dates WebRTC and allows the establishment of a direct connection between two agents without a central server. These two agents could be on the same network or on the other side of the world.

ICE enables direct connection, but the real magic of the connecting process involves a concept called ‘NAT Traversal’ and the use of STUN/TURN Servers. These two concepts, which we will explore in more depth later, are all you need to communicate with an ICE Agent in another subnet.

When the two agents have successfully established an ICE connection, WebRTC moves on to the next step; establishing an encrypted transport for sharing audio, video, and data between them.

Securing the transport layer with DTLS and SRTP #

Now that we have bi-directional communication (via ICE), we need to make our communication secure! This is done through two more protocols that also pre-date WebRTC; DTLS (Datagram Transport Layer Security) and SRTP (Secure Real-Time Transport Protocol). The first protocol, DTLS, is simply TLS over UDP (TLS is the cryptographic protocol used to secure communication over HTTPS). The second protocol, SRTP, is used to ensure encryption of RTP (Real-time Protocol) data packets.

First, WebRTC connects by doing a DTLS handshake over the connection established by ICE. Unlike HTTPS, WebRTC doesn’t use a central authority for certificates. It simply asserts that the certificate exchanged via DTLS matches the fingerprint shared via signaling. This DTLS connection is then used for DataChannel messages.

Next, WebRTC uses the RTP protocol, secured using SRTP, for audio/video transmission. We initialize our SRTP session by extracting the keys from the negotiated DTLS session.

We will discuss why media and data transmission have their own protocols in a later chapter, but for now it is enough to know that they are handled separately.

Now we are done! We have successfully established bi-directional and secure communication. If you have a stable connection between your WebRTC agents, this is all the complexity you need. In the next section, we will discuss how WebRTC deals with the unfortunate real world problems of packet loss and bandwidth limits.

Communicating with peers via RTP and SCTP #

Now that we have two WebRTC agents connected and secure, bi-directional communication established, let’s start communicating! Again, WebRTC will use two pre-existing protocols: RTP (Real-time Transport Protocol), and SCTP (Stream Control Transmission Protocol). We use RTP to exchange media encrypted with SRTP, and we use SCTP to send and receive DataChannel messages encrypted with DTLS.

RTP is quite a minimal protocol, but it provides the necessary tools to implement real-time streaming. The most important thing about RTP is that it gives flexibility to the developer, allowing them to handle latency, package loss, and congestion as they please. We will discuss this further in the media chapter.

The final protocol in the stack is SCTP. The important thing about SCTP is that it allows for unreliable, out of order message delivery (among many different options). This allows developers to ensure the necessary latency for real-time systems.

WebRTC, a collection of protocols #

WebRTC solves a lot of problems. At first glance the technology may seem over-engineered, but the genius of WebRTC is its humility. It wasn’t created under the assumption that it could solve everything better. Instead, it embraced many existing single purpose technologies and brought them together into a streamlined, widely applicable bundle.

This allows us to examine and learn each part individually without being overwhelmed. A good way to visualize it is a ‘WebRTC Agent’ is really just an orchestrator of many different protocols.

WebRTC Agent

How does the WebRTC API work? #

This section outlines how the WebRTC JavaScript API maps to the WebRTC protocol described above. It isn’t meant as an extensive demo of the WebRTC API, but more to create a mental model of how everything ties together. If you aren’t familiar with either the protocol or the API, don’t worry. This could be a fun section to return to as you learn more!

new RTCPeerConnection #

The RTCPeerConnection is the top-level “WebRTC Session”. It contains all the protocols mentioned above. The subsystems are all allocated but nothing happens yet.

addTrack #

addTrack creates a new RTP stream. A random Synchronization Source (SSRC) will be generated for this stream. This stream will then be inside the Session Description generated by createOffer inside a media section. Each call to addTrack will create a new SSRC and media section.

Immediately after an SRTP Session is established, these media packets will start being encrypted using SRTP and sent via ICE.

createDataChannel #

createDataChannel creates a new SCTP stream if no SCTP association exists. SCTP is not enabled by default. It is only started when one side requests a data channel.

Immediately after a DTLS Session is established, the SCTP association will start sending packets encrypted with DTLS via ICE.

createOffer #

createOffer generates a Session Description of the local state to be shared with the remote peer.

The act of calling createOffer doesn’t change anything for the local peer.

setLocalDescription #

setLocalDescription commits any requested changes. The calls addTrack, createDataChannel, and similar calls are temporary until this call. setLocalDescription is called with the value generated by createOffer.

Usually, after this call, you will send the offer to the remote peer, who will use it to call setRemoteDescription.

setRemoteDescription #

setRemoteDescription is how we inform the local agent about the state of the remote candidates’. This is how the act of ‘Signaling’ is done with the JavaScript API.

When setRemoteDescription has been called on both sides, the WebRTC agents now have enough info to start communicating Peer-To-Peer (P2P)!

addIceCandidate #

addIceCandidate allows a WebRTC agent to add more remote ICE Candidates at any time. This API sends the ICE Candidate right into the ICE subsystem and has no other effect on the greater WebRTC connection.

ontrack #

ontrack is a callback fired when an RTP packet is received from the remote peer. The incoming packets would have been declared in the Session Description that was passed to setRemoteDescription.

WebRTC uses the SSRC and looks up the associated MediaStream and MediaStreamTrack, and fires this callback with these details populated.

oniceconnectionstatechange #

oniceconnectionstatechange is a callback that is fired which reflects a change in the state of an ICE agent. When you have a change in network connectivity this is how you are notified.

onconnectionstatechange #

onconnectionstatechange is a combination of ICE agent and DTLS agent state. You can watch this to be notified when ICE and DTLS have both completed successfully.